Quick Thoughts: The Revenant – Survival, Nature and Revenge

maxresdefault1

I had high hopes for this film. It’s won 3 Golden Globes and has been nominated for 12 Academy Awards. The hype towards DiCaprio and his tough shoot were intriguing to me. The director, Alejandro G. Inarritu, made one of the best films last year (Birdman) so I was intrigued what else he’ll show me.

revenant-2nd

I won’t spoil anything because the film is still in theaters, but it was really well shot, the sound design was fantastic, the music is captivating, and DiCaprio and Hardy gave it their all.

hqdefault

The first 30 minutes had me hooked…then the sprawl of the landscape took over, and the film lost its focus, and no one mattered, but it sure looked pretty. I started to notice that the incredible makeup kept changing consistency from scene to scene.

maxresdefault2

I drifted like the snow did, then a transcendental boredom set in and I couldn’t wait for it to be over. As I wafted with Leo’s superhuman survival of pain again and again, I realized I was bored and just didn’t care anymore. The story didn’t interest me and it wasn’t complex in any way. It took itself too seriously and the film succumbs to a grim over-determination that didn’t allow me to emotionally connect with the film.

therevenant_dontgiveup_tvc

There were a few amazing scenes that were gripping, heart pounding and extremely mesmerizing. But the reliance on those scenes to keep the audience interested and invested just made it repetitive and stale.

I REALLY wanted to love this movie. I tried, but felt no connection.


Lin Yang

 

Leave a Reply

